When you enable MailChimp sync, Clinicminds automatically detects which patients are already subscribed to your MailChimp list. The newsletter checkbox of these patients will automatically be checked in Clinicminds. If you chose to sync additional fields (like name and birthday), the values in Clinicminds will overwrite the values in MailChimp. This initial sync may take some time, up to a few hours (depending on the number of patients/subscribers).

When a patient subscribes to your newsletter via Clinicminds, they are added to your MailChimp list. When you unsubscribe a patient on the patient edit form, they are unsubscribed from your MailChimp list.

When someone subscribes to your newsletter via your own website or MailChimp, Clinicminds detects if the email address belongs to a patient. If so, the newsletter checkbox will automatically be checked in Clinicminds. If you chose to sync additional fields (like name and birthday), the values in Clinicminds will overwrite the values in MailChimp.

When someone unsubscribes from your newsletter via MailChimp, Clinicminds detects if the email address belongs to a patient. If so, the newsletter checkbox will automatically be unchecked in Clinicminds.

If two patients share the same email address in Clinicminds, and the email address is subscribed to your MailChimp list, Clinicminds will randomly sync the details of one of the patients with MailChimp. Therefore, you should prevent patients from sharing the same email address in Clinicminds.

Did this answer your question?